Oh no! Where's the JavaScript?
Your Web browser does not have JavaScript enabled or does not support JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript on your Web browser to properly view this Web site, or upgrade to a Web browser that does support JavaScript.
Not a member yet? Click here to register.
Forgot Password?

Facebook Comments Box for Each Profile

Asked Modified Viewed 18,939 times
A
Ankur
A
Ankur 10
Hi! Its me, Ankur Thakur! smile
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 1,277 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 60 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
asked
Veteran Member

Hello Guyz,

It may look nice if there's a Facebook Comments Box in each Member's Profile where Comments can be Posted by the FB Users.

DEMO : http://www.clan-icsl.com/profile.php?...p?lookup=1

1. Register your Application on Facebook and Keep your Required Information like Application ID, Application Secret etc etc with you(e.g in a TXT file)

2. Download the Cross Domain Receiver file from here and Upload it to the Root of your Website.

3. Backup your original profile.php first in a safe place and then Open profile.php. Go to the Line 200. You will Find a Closing Bracket }. i.e,

[syntaxhighlighter brush=php,first-line=1,highlight=0,collapse=false,html-script=false] echo "</tr>\n</table>\n</form>\n";
}
} // I am Talking about this Bracket[/syntaxhighlighter]

Just After this Bracket add this Code : http://pastebin.com/BpnkShf4
Code is in the Link. It was giving BB Code problem and converting smilies angry so had to pastebin it.

Replace XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX with your Application ID which is provided to you with your Application.

If you want to change How many Comments should be Displayed(Maximum), then change the numposts='10' to your needs.
If you want to change width, just change the width='400'

Last and Optional Step :

Open themes/templates/header.php and Find for this line :

[syntaxhighlighter brush=php,first-line=1,highlight=0,collapse=false,html-script=false]echo "<html xmlns='http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml' xml:lang='".$locale['xml_lang']."' lang='".$locale['xml_lang']."'>\n";[/syntaxhighlighter]

Add the given below code after xmlns='http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml' :

xmlns:fb='http://www.facebook.com/2008/fbml'

I called this Optional Step because the Comments will work without this step too. But I don't want to Break any Rules even by mistake pfft

Done !!!

Enjoy !!!

If you want to Customize the Text Color of Comment, or want to Customize the CSS related to it, you have to put an extra parameter named css where the code for :
echo "<fb:comments numposts='10' width='400' publish_feed='false' css='http://yourwebsite.com/fbcomment.css'></fb:comments>\n"; is defined

This will be a CSS file on your Server made by you...

Download the CSS file here : http://www.clan-icsl.com/includes/css...omment.css

Now Do whatever changes you want But Under Policies like changing Text Color.

Remember !!!

If you are changing the CSS the 2nd time(means you have been able to see the comment box once after you have installed your own CSS), then you have to change the CSS path in :
echo "<fb:comments numposts='10' width='400' publish_feed='false' css='http://yourwebsite.com/fbcomment.css'></fb:comments>\n"; also

There nothing much to do. Just change the File URL to something http://yourwebsite.com/fbcomment.css?1,http://yourwebsite.com/fbcomment.css?2,http://yourwebsite.com/fbcomment.css?3 everytime you make changes in your CSS !!!

This is because Facebook uses CACHE to Store CSS so it is required to change the file. In this way, it will not affect the real content .... wink

You should provide a Link to your Website's Terms of Agreement and a Link to your Website's Privacy Policy too...

> Better, Add the Code as a Lower Center panel with Display on All Pages

Code Updated below to the Updated version of Comments Box :

Add it as either Lower Center or Upper Center Panel : Remember to replace XXXXX with your APP ID or XID. In new Interface, Old Comments may Lost !

[syntaxhighlighter brush=php,first-line=1,highlight=0,collapse=false,html-script=false]opentable("Comments via Facebook"wink;

$curlink = 'http://';
$curlink .= $_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'].$_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'];
$curlink = urlencode($curlink);

echo "<table cellpadding='0' cellspacing='0' width='auto' class='center tbl-border'>\n<tr>\n";
echo "<td class='tbl2' colspan='2'><strong>Comments Box</strong></td>\n";
echo "</tr>\n<tr>\n";
echo "<td class='tbl1'>\n";
echo "<div id='fb-root'></div>
<script>
window.fbAsyncInit = function() {
FB.init({appId: 'XXXXX', status: true, cookie: true,
xfbml: true});
};
(function() {
var e = document.createElement('script'wink; e.async = true;
e.src = document.location.protocol +
'//connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js';
document.getElementById('fb-root'wink.appendChild(e);
}());
</script>\n";
echo "<fb:comments xid='XXXXX' href='".$curlink."' numposts='5' width='auto' publish_feed='false' migrated='1'></fb:comments>\n";
echo "</td></tr>\n</table>\n";
closetable();[/syntaxhighlighter]

You can also Set the width according to your needs...
Edited by Ankur on 27-03-2011 16:24,
0 replies

45 posts

J
Jack Daniels
J
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 77 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 9 threads in the forums
answered
Member

Push up.
0 replies
A
Ankur
A
Ankur 10
Hi! Its me, Ankur Thakur! smile
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 1,277 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 60 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Veteran Member

Quote

Jack Daniels wrote:
Push up.


Sorry for my bad english !!!

But didn't get, what it means ? :(

Here's the Demo which is Live Now : http://www.clan-icsl.com/profile.php?...p?lookup=1
Edited by Ankur on 19-01-2011 10:53,
0 replies
S
Structor
S
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 116 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 11 threads in the forums
answered
Member

Question: can it be done for photos, or maybe photoalbums?
0 replies
A
Ankur
A
Ankur 10
Hi! Its me, Ankur Thakur! smile
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 1,277 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 60 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Veteran Member

Quote

structor wrote:
Question: can it be done for photos, or maybe photoalbums?


Yeah !!! Of course !!!

Actually, it uses the current page URL to show the Comments differently for each URL.

So wherever you put this code, it will show the comments posted n that page.

For example :

If the current page URL is www.clan-icsl.com/profile.php?lookup=1, then it will show the comments only for this URL... And similarly different comments posted for other URL's.

So in short comments are unique for all pages by url...

so you can use it in :

> Photo Albums Page
> Photos page
> Articles
> News
> Custom Pages

.
.
Infact on the whole site :P
0 replies
S
Structor
S
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 116 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 11 threads in the forums
answered
Member

So, I almost get it, but this part I didn't understood:

Quote

2. Download the Cross Domain Receiver file from here and Upload it to the Root of your Website.


There is an empty page on that link...
Edited by Structor on 19-01-2011 13:13,
0 replies
A
Ankur
A
Ankur 10
Hi! Its me, Ankur Thakur! smile
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 1,277 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 60 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Veteran Member

Quote

structor wrote:
So, I almost get it, but this part I didn't understood:

Quote

2. Download the Cross Domain Receiver file from here and Upload it to the Root of your Website.


There is an empty page on that link...


Ya its an empty page !!! But you have to Download it by Right Clicking on it and Save Link as or Save target as

It is somewhere written in the Policy of using Facebook Applications, so thats why you have to use it...
0 replies
S
Structor
S
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 116 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 11 threads in the forums
answered
Member

I am not familiar with facebook apps, so I must ask you: is it neccessary to make my own application?
Can't we use the application that you've made? (I have no idea what I have to do in the application form :) )
0 replies
A
Ankur
A
Ankur 10
Hi! Its me, Ankur Thakur! smile
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 1,277 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 60 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Veteran Member

Yeah !!! Its necessary to make your own application as all applications are specific.

You cannot use my application because I have done settings to be used it on y URL.

Not much things you have to do !!! Just add the Website URL in Facebook for Websites in Application form :)
0 replies
S
Structor
S
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 116 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 11 threads in the forums
answered
Member

Thank you Ankur, it seems to work as it should ;)
0 replies
A
Ankur
A
Ankur 10
Hi! Its me, Ankur Thakur! smile
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 1,277 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 60 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Veteran Member

;) Welcome !!!

Have you tried it somewhere ? Please post the Link if you don't mind B)
0 replies
S
Structor
S
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 116 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 11 threads in the forums
answered
Member

0 replies
A
Ankur
A
Ankur 10
Hi! Its me, Ankur Thakur! smile
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 1,277 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 60 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Veteran Member

There's an error !!! You haven't made the Application correctly !!!

Have you entered the URL in ur application ???

Edit your Application by going to http://www.facebook.com/apps/applicat...4688468130 and clicking Edit App

Then Edit its App settings. In that, there will be an option saying Website. Enter your URL there !!!

------------------------
Edited :


Add the Domain URL to it, i.e http://www.modstruct.ro/

Not the link to photo !!!

And you have added in the code css='http://www.modstruct.ro/fbcomment.css', but the file doesn't exist !!!

Either remove it, or Upload the CSS file. Please read all the instructions carefully first which are given on the top post !!!
Edited by Ankur on 19-01-2011 14:13,
0 replies
S
Structor
S
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 116 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 11 threads in the forums
answered
Member

There are to lines:

Site URL: ....
Site Domain:....

On the second line I entered modstruct.ro
On the first what do I have to enter? Is this correct?

http://www.modstruct.ro/modele_case.php?photo_id=

Edit:
the file fbcomments.css is in place, it was on the beginning

Edit 2: oh sorry I wasn't payed attention, it is fbcomment, not comments :)
Edited by Structor on 19-01-2011 14:16,
0 replies
A
Ankur
A
Ankur 10
Hi! Its me, Ankur Thakur! smile
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 1,277 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 60 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Veteran Member

On the First line, i.e Site URl add http://www.modstruct.ro/ and Left the Second, i.e Domain blank as it is !!!

The Domain is for enabling if you want to use it on Subdomains of your website !!!!!

And either Upload the http://www.modstruct.ro/fbcomment.css css file or remove it from the code added in PHP file !!!!!!!

*************************************
EDITED :


Yeah !!! Good ! Its working now !!!!!!!
Edited by Ankur on 19-01-2011 14:23,
0 replies
S
Structor
S
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 116 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 11 threads in the forums
answered
Member

All done, works great :)
0 replies
A
Ankur
A
Ankur 10
Hi! Its me, Ankur Thakur! smile
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 1,277 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 60 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Veteran Member

Quote

structor wrote:
All done, works great :)


Hmm ! ;)

You can use the same code on other things like articles etc...

also for customizing comments text, read about customizing css above in 1st post :)
0 replies
S
Structor
S
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 116 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 11 threads in the forums
answered
Member

just played a little in comments administration and it seems that the anonymous posting doesn't work.

I get the message: "unable to post on this wall", or something like that
Edited by Structor on 19-01-2011 14:51,
0 replies
E
emilife93
E
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 176 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 49 threads in the forums
answered
Member

Quote

Ankur wrote:
[quote]structor wrote:

so you can use it in :

> Photo Albums Page
> Photos page
> Articles
> News
> Custom Pages

.

Infact on the whole site :P


i want to add facebook comment box for each articles....but i dont know where line to add the http://pastebin.com/BpnkShf4 in articles.php
Edited by emilife93 on 19-01-2011 16:05,
0 replies
R
Rolf Mayer
R
Ex
  • Senior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 391 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 7 threads in the forums
answered
Senior Member

It's all postet by Ankur. And it is not usefull to qoute the complete posting.
Edited by Rolf Mayer on 19-01-2011 15:31,
0 replies

Labels

None yet

Statistics

  • Views 0 views
  • Posts 45 posts
  • Votes 0 votes
  • Topic users 9 members

9 participants

F
F
Falk 131
Need help?, Having trouble?
• View our Documentation for Guides, Standards and Functions
• Name and Organize your Topics and Content correctly in the corresponding Forums for best support results
• Attaching Log Files and Screenshots when reporting issues will help
• Provide with an URL to live example if one exists
• Please read the How to Report an Error post
• Please read and comply with the Code of Conduct

(¯·._.·(¯°·._.·°º*[ Project Manager ]*º°·._.·°¯)·._.·¯)
  • Super Admin, joined since
  • Contributed 6,201 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 639 threads in the forums
  • Answered 11 questions
H
H
Harly 10
Regards, Har1y.
  • Senior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 302 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 51 threads in the forums
S
S
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 116 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 11 threads in the forums
E
E
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 176 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 49 threads in the forums
L
L
I am always doing things that which i cannot do, in order that i may learn how to do it.
whatpulse.org/dynamic-../../images/300224.jpg
  • Junior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 11 posts on the community forums.
J
J
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 77 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 9 threads in the forums
R
R
Ex
  • Senior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 391 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 7 threads in the forums
A
A
Ankur 10
Hi! Its me, Ankur Thakur! smile
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 1,277 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 60 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
S
S
[size=24]HELP WANTED FOR PHP-FUSION PROJECTS[/size]
[size=12]I am seeking Web Developers & Designers, Graphic Developers & Designers, Web, Mobile App & Computer Program Coders & Programmers & Beta & Alpha Testers for new PHP-Fusion Add-Ons like Themes, Infusions, BB-Codes and ETC, as well as Websites, Mobile App & Computer Programs to help me develop, design, code & program new PHP-Fusion Add-Ons, Websites, Mobile Apps & Computer Programs and I also need some people to test those in the Beta & Alpha stages both. All jobs are paid and are freelance jobs. Please message me here if interested for a list of available positions and projects. [/size]
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 120 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 44 threads in the forums

Notifications

Track thread

You are not receiving notifications from this thread.

Related Questions

Not yet